Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Charging Issues Since Monterey Upgrade on M1 MacBook Pro

Hello Everyone,

I have a 2020 M1 MacBook Pro that I have been enjoying for several months now. On Monday I upgraded to MacOS Monterey 12.0.1 and have been experiencing issues with charging ever since.

When I plug in my charger (original Apple 61w w/ OEM Cable) the computer recognizes it and the device either runs off of wall power or charges for a time, no issue. But inexplicably as the device sits plugged in on my desk, the laptop eventually fails to recognize that it's getting power from the wall and starts draining the battery. I tried using an Apple 96w charger with another OEM cable in the office and the laptop is experiencing the same issue. This never occurred before the Monterey upgrade, and appears to occur regardless of which charger/cable combination that I use.

Has anyone else experienced this issue? I contacted Apple Support, and they had me run the laptop in safe mode for 10 minutes and then reboot, which didn't seem to make a difference. I really don't want to have to bring this into the Apple Store to get replaced under AppleCare+, because I think it's probably a firmware issue related to Monterey and not a hardware failure.

What should I do?

MacBook Pro (2020 and later)

Posted on Nov 3, 2021 4:35 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Nov 3, 2021 4:41 AM

There are any USB-C Hub between the Charging cable and computer ? For best results a Direct connection from charger and cable to computer.

Batteries are considered Consumable Products. Over time it will degrade to a point where it needs to be replaced. The usage is normal as the capacity will go up and down all the time and never stay always at 100%. Apple Batteries are rated for 1000 Full Battery Cycles and / or 80% Capacity before needing Evaluation or replacement.