Want to highlight a helpful answer? Upvote!

Did someone help you, or did an answer or User Tip resolve your issue? Upvote by selecting the upvote arrow. Your feedback helps others! Learn more about when to upvote >

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

2019 Macbook Pro's touchbar has a very annoying and bright flicker

Can't seem to just insert videos, so here's a screenshot of how bright it actually is. I could be wrong, but it tends to be worse when I'm in low/no lighting, but it tends to last a while when it shows up initially.

I've seen some people say that this can be fixed if you pay to get the keyboard replaced or use Apple Care but 1) I am a broke college student and have been taping over the light for months now and don't want to pay that much, and 2) I don't have Apple Care and am out of the warranty period.

Please help, my eyes burn

MacBook Pro 13″, macOS 12.2

Posted on Apr 2, 2022 7:13 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Apr 3, 2022 9:30 AM

abpquestions wrote:

Can't seem to just insert videos, so here's a screenshot of how bright it actually is. I could be wrong, but it tends to be worse when I'm in low/no lighting, but it tends to last a while when it shows up initially.

I've seen some people say that this can be fixed if you pay to get the keyboard replaced or use Apple Care but 1) I am a broke college student and have been taping over the light for months now and don't want to pay that much, and 2) I don't have Apple Care and am out of the warranty period.

Shift Command 6 will take an isolate screen shot of the Touchbar...if you need to escalate the issue

Apple Support

Not all Terminal command are universal for Touchbar— however it is safe to use the following:

On the Intel Mac—

Try resetting the SMC How to reset the SMC of your Mac - Apple Support

Try resetting NVRAM/PRAM Reset NVRAM or PRAM on your Mac - Apple Support