Apple Event: May 7th at 7 am PT

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Is this the correct memory upgrade for my iMac?

I have a late 2015 iMac which is now running pretty slow and I need to speed things up. I went to Crucial.com which was recommended to me by staff in the Mac Store.

However, according to two different chat agents they are telling me different things. One of them said this was the one to buy and compatible with my iMac - and the other said they do not have any compatible memory for for iMac, and that it was not compatible. 🤔😕

https://uk.crucial.com/memory/ddr3/CT2K4G3S160BJM#rohs

I do not want to buy the wrong one and/or mess up my Mac, since I have zero knowledge about this type of thing!

Any help would be very much appreciated indeed. Is the one in the link fine to buy and will it speed up the performance?

Here is all the tech data from my iMac:

iMac (Retina 5K, 27-inch, Late 2015)

3.3 GHz Intel Core i5

8 GB 1867 MHz DDR3

AMD Radeon R9 M395 2048 MB

"Your Mac contains 4 memory slots, each of which accepts

a 1867 MHz DDR3 memory module.

2 memory slots in use, 2 available"

iMac 27″, OS X 10.11

Posted on Jun 5, 2022 5:06 AM

13 replies

Jun 5, 2022 8:14 AM in response to Abstractman23

I see.

Is there are reason you stayed at 10.11? We found 10.13, a free upgrade, supported all our older apps. A Late 2015 will support the newest version of mac OS, but 10.13 will give you improved browser compatibility without losing any old apps that I know of.

See: How to get old versions of macOS - Apple Support for the official download link for High Sierra 10.13.

Without data I can ask three pertinent questions:

Is the computer slow to boot?

Are apps slow to launch?

Once launched, do those apps sewm to run OK?

Three "Yes" answers suggest the mech hard drive issues we discussed.