Want to highlight a helpful answer? Upvote!

Did someone help you, or did an answer or User Tip resolve your issue? Upvote by selecting the upvote arrow. Your feedback helps others! Learn more about when to upvote >

@suddenlinkmail.com emails appear in my @icloud.com account!

Over the last week I've been receiving around a dozen emails each day from machine driven email addresses using the @suddenlinkmail.com email server.

Apple support tell me that I must have unwittingly signed up / into something, but I'm a lifelong IT professional and I'm very cautious in this regard.

It would seem that this attack has been able to corrupt the Apple email service and forward these fishing emails to my email account. I'd stress that my Apple email address doesn't appear in the recipient list, only the spurious @suddenlinkmail.com address.

It's almost like the hackers have reverse engineered Apple's own, sign up with Apple Security service!!!

I'm very concerned as Apple Support are playing this down and wanted to ask if it's a challenge other's are facing?

Many thanks one and all

Posted on Jun 20, 2023 12:44 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Jun 20, 2023 7:56 AM

See this thread to set a rule at the iCloud Mail server lever to send these messages straight to trash.

I'm getting mail addressed to ...@suddenl… - Apple Community

Also, if you look at the full header of those messages, you might see your real email address. :-(

8 replies

Jun 20, 2023 12:33 PM in response to CraigHT

Hi Craig, You are lucky if the spammers don't have your real email address. With sufficient training, SpamSieve should be able to catch all those and send them to the Junk folder. But, that represents another problem - how to wade through all that Junk to find any possible false positives (good messages). That's why I got started looking deeper into this.

I won't contradict Apple Support, but - - -