Want to highlight a helpful answer? Upvote!

Did someone help you, or did an answer or User Tip resolve your issue? Upvote by selecting the upvote arrow. Your feedback helps others! Learn more about when to upvote >

Trying to run app opens DMG file

I'm new to mac (MacBook Pro), so I have a bit to learn. When I download an app (DMG file), I move it to the Applications folders, where it appears to install. But when I return and try to open the app from the Applications folder, the window in the attached screenshot appears. Maybe this is normal, but I thought that the app itself would open directly. Instead, I double click the icon in the window, but then decline to change the app's settings. Thanks.

MacBook Pro (M2 Pro, 2023)

Posted on Jul 24, 2023 11:58 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Jul 24, 2023 1:06 PM

J1-Helena wrote:

Thanks, but when I double click the DMG, a window opens and states that "The settings pane you are installing is already installed. Do you want to replace the existing settings pane?" I click cancel, as I don't want to lose my settings, and then the app appears. A disk icon also appears on the desktop with the app's name. Should I choose to replace the settings pane?

That means you've already installed the item in Settings. To access it, you go to Settings, not the Application folder. You will never see settings in the Applications folder.

Customize your Mac with System Settings - Apple Support

The disk icon is the running .dmg file.

Similar questions

9 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Jul 24, 2023 1:06 PM in response to J1-Helena

J1-Helena wrote:

Thanks, but when I double click the DMG, a window opens and states that "The settings pane you are installing is already installed. Do you want to replace the existing settings pane?" I click cancel, as I don't want to lose my settings, and then the app appears. A disk icon also appears on the desktop with the app's name. Should I choose to replace the settings pane?