Want to highlight a helpful answer? Upvote!

Did someone help you, or did an answer or User Tip resolve your issue? Upvote by selecting the upvote arrow. Your feedback helps others! Learn more about when to upvote >

Newsroom Update

Apple and Google deliver support for unwanted tracking alerts in iOS and Android. Learn more >

I can't add my Yahoo email account into my iPhone

Hi I am new to smartphones so please have patience with me.

A few yrs ago somebody gave me their old iphone 5, but the screen was too small for me so i gave up.

I did manage to load my yahoo email account though (in what i think is the apple mail account - the icon with envelope symbol on the home screen) & send & receive a couple of msgs.

However somebody recently gave me their old iphone 6plus, which is much bigger & i can manage it.

I went to the envelope icon again, & selected YAHOO option from the list of email options & followed the instructions to sign in. But instead of loading the account it just took me back to the list of options again.

I wondered if perhaps the old iphone 5 being still in a drawer somewhere was somehow messing things up so i deleted my email account from there.

I tried changing the password, restarting, several times but now neither iphone will load my yahoo mail account.

I went on my laptop & signed out of yahoo & back in again with the new password which worked fine.

Every time i go through the sign in process on my iphone trying to get my email account to load, i get an email (seen on laptop) that i have signed in on my iphone.

Am totally confused i cant understand what i am doing wrong. Can somebody help an old dinosaur out please?

iphone6 plus, running 12.5.7

[Re-Titled by Moderator]

Posted on Jul 25, 2023 8:58 AM

Similar questions

20 replies

Jul 25, 2023 10:10 PM in response to HummingbirdBlue

Hi HummingbirdBlue

welcome to the Apple (user-to-user) Community.

Re: "iphone 6 (plus) wont load yahoo email account"