The cardio readings on my Apple Watch are inconsistent

Okay, so I have been training for a half marathon for the past 4 months. I’m in the best shape of my life, don’t get winded running or walking up big hills like I used to and have lost 15 pounds. Back in February, I got a notification saying my cardio recovery was 42BPM and I was in some of the worst shape of my life. I would get winded walking up the stairs. But now, it’s August and it has been consistently dropping for months and I’m down to 21BPM. I thought this was a good thing because it has been moving consistently with my getting in shape until I looked up what it meant and now I’m incredibly confused on how Apple is recording this. It does not seem accurate in the slightest. At my worst point, physically, my heart rate had the best cardio recovery? And at my best point, physically, it’s now the worst cardio recovery I’ve ever had? Please someone shed some light on this. It makes me feel like Apple isn’t recording my workout’s accurately now.

[Re-Titled by Moderator]

Apple Watch Series 3, watchOS 8

Posted on Aug 14, 2023 1:07 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Jan 25, 2024 8:17 PM

I’m seeing the exact same phenomenon and found this thread by querying about it. Following for an explanation .

Similar questions

20 replies

Mar 18, 2024 1:15 AM in response to nikolina51

More recent studies validating the Cole et al. findings show that Cardio Recovery or heart rate recovery of 13 or greater (meaning a drop of 13 bpm or more) after 1 minute, or 22 or greater after two minutes is in the normal/healthy range.

Just thought I'd paste this in here as it can be quite worrying seeing some low numbers and thinking something's wrong. Perhaps we all rely on tech too much these days, just know that everyone here is doing the best thing for their health by exercising in the first place. I can only imagine Apple's code has since changed to be more "accurate" and it's not you that's getting worse!