New MBA M3 screen feels blurred

So I've been using different Macs for many years, from the 128k to the Duo Dock to my latest, the MacBook Air M3 13 that I picked up the other day. For the last, I think, 13 years, I've mostly used different MacBook Airs, the latest from 2014. I've used these computers for 4-14 hours a day, with no issues.

It took about five minutes being logged on to my new MBA M3 before I realized that the screen started to feel blurry. I couldn't understand why, so I chalked it up to being tired and closed my computer. The day after the same thing happened. Then again. On the fourth day I had a project I needed to give my attention, and since I hadn't finished setting up my MBA M3, I used my old MBA. Again - no issues.

I have this feeling every time I use the MBA M3, that there is something off with the screen. For the first 5-10 minutes it looks crisp and nice, and then quickly my eyes get tired, the screen feels blurred, and it's not a nice working environment.

Anyone have any tips or tricks? Should I change the color profile? Something else?

Thank you!

MacBook Air 13″

Posted on Mar 24, 2024 3:37 AM

9 replies

Mar 24, 2024 6:46 AM in response to behr be

I'd try what Apple says to do and if this fails... Genius Bar and as a last-ditch... return the laptop for repair (One year) or replacement (Might have two weeks?).

• If your display is blurry: Make sure your Mac has detected that display. Choose Apple menu > System Settings, then click Displays.
  • To see the Detect Displays button, press the Option key. Then click the button to detect the display.

If your Mac display doesn’t look right - Apple Support (CA)

Mar 24, 2024 6:30 AM in response to behr be

Just curious....is this a brand new out of the box MacBook Air purchased directly from Apple, or is it a second hand MacBook Air?