Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Sharing Folders - Do I need Mac OS Server

I am currently using OneDrive to share work related documents with my colleague. However, I can access a native folder with the documents on, but she can't. She has to go into the web browser and access the online system.

I am currently looking at purchasing a Mac Mini to run as a server and whilst I do have some experience and training as a programmer, my knowledge of networking etc is limited.

My questions are:

Do I need a Mac Server to house documents that can be shared and accessed natively from MacBook Pro Late 2009 that runs El Capitan and my colleagues Macbook Air that runs High Sierra?

Or can this done without a server? Or both? Are there benefits to doing with or without the server?

And how do I set one or both up?

Kind Regards,

Bobby

Posted on Apr 20, 2018 6:12 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Apr 20, 2018 9:16 AM

You don't need Server software to share folders/files. You can have common shares centralized (e.g. on a Mac mini) that client Macs can access. For example, you could setup a share (folder) on the Mac mini called WorkDocuments and allow Everyone permission to Read/Write to it. Or specify who has Read/Write permissions.

Similar questions

12 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Apr 20, 2018 9:16 AM in response to DnBBobby

You don't need Server software to share folders/files. You can have common shares centralized (e.g. on a Mac mini) that client Macs can access. For example, you could setup a share (folder) on the Mac mini called WorkDocuments and allow Everyone permission to Read/Write to it. Or specify who has Read/Write permissions.

Apr 21, 2018 8:47 AM in response to DnBBobby

Ok. I think I understand and you don't need server software to do what you want.