Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Apple Music keeps opening automatically.

I'm on the point of going crazy. Apple Music keeps opening automatically. Sometimes repeatedly. I'm running Catalina 10.15.6 on a 2012 iMac. I've been using Macs for 30 years but if can't resolve this issue I'll just have to dump it and get a PC. Help! - Eugene

iMac 21.5″, macOS 10.15

Posted on Aug 19, 2020 11:24 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Aug 23, 2020 11:48 AM

A simple macOS application that will prevent iTunes or Apple Music from launching. Called "noTunes". I got it through github.

https://github.com/tombonez/noTunes

Saved my sanity. Also loads a button onto your dock and/or bar so you can turn it on and off at will.

Similar questions

30 replies

Dec 22, 2020 9:37 AM in response to eugene84

Boot into Safe Mode by booting with the Shift key held down and check there to see if the problem persists.  Reboot normally and test again.

NOTE: Safe Mode boot can take up to 10 minutes as it's doing the following; 

• Verifies your startup disk and attempts to repair directory issues, if needed

• Loads only required kernel extensions (prevents 3rd party kernel/extensions from loading)

• Prevents Startup Items and Login Items from opening automatically

• Disables user-installed fonts 

• Deletes font caches, kernel cache, and other system cache files

Download and run Etrecheck. Etrecheck is a diagnostic tool that was developed by one of the most respected users here in the ASC and recommended by Apple Support  to provide a snapshot of the system and help identify the more obvious culprits that can adversely affect a Mac's performance.

Copy the report

and use the Additional Text button to include the report in your reply.

IMPORTANT: