Apple Event: May 7th at 7 am PT

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Can I use an HDMI splitter with my M1 Mac Mini?

I would like to use two monitors but reserve the USB-C Thunderbolt port for something else. Can I connect two monitors via HDMI if I use an HDMI splitter?

Mac mini, macOS 11.4

Posted on Aug 6, 2021 9:43 PM

20 replies

Oct 6, 2021 10:26 PM in response to hcsitas

fake boxes? You do realize that you can’t usd the m1 apple in any congress environment? It doesnt work with anything, and there doesn’t seem to be an original hdmi splitter. All previous macbooks worked well. I am an event technician. This is a major flaw of the M1 chip, not a minor inconvenience. People will show up with their brand new macbook to do powerpoint presentations on fixed installations and it will not work. Also you wont be able to put your presentation on a livesream, since it will see a camera switchboard as “ multiple monitors’

i am very much regretting i have bought the new macbook pro.

Oct 7, 2021 12:37 AM in response to lebowskisound

Like I’ve mentioned already, you need to find a solution that doesn’t use HDMI splitters or your MacBook. Ask around, you’ll find that the world, including Congress, is chugging along just fine without them. You can feedback your grievance here https://www.apple.com/feedback/…but it’s likely by design not accidental, so the chances of it being “fixed” are IMO, zero. All the best!

Oct 6, 2021 2:18 AM in response to hcsitas

Hello, So that means that if i have a customer that needs to do a presentation with his brand new macbook pro m1, and he needs to connect it to my blackmagic atem switcher, which sends one output to the projector and one to my multiview it won't work? In this case the M1 chip would be completely unusable for current business presentation setups. Please tell me this is not true!

Oct 6, 2021 3:04 AM in response to hcsitas