Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Edited file plays correctly in iTunes, but wrong on iPod

How is this possible?

I am a dance teacher and have edited music every year for YEARS always using the same method, and this has never happened before. File was edited in audacity, exported, and then imported into iTunes and labeled clearly with EDIT. File plays in iTunes on my desktop perfectly, with edits in tact. When I play the exact same file on either of my two iPods, it plays the original unedited version. This shouldn't even be possible, but I have now re-done the entire process twice, and here I am.

PLEASE, can someone explain this?

iPod, iOS 11

Posted on Mar 12, 2022 8:05 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Mar 13, 2022 3:23 PM

ShannonB99 wrote:

In any event, the point is why is the song playing correctly everywhere but on the iPods? If I had left a track muted, etc...it should play the same everywhere.

I agree.

I can only assume that the version you don't want has ... aha!

Are you using iTunes Match by any chance?

Similar questions

12 replies

Mar 13, 2022 3:09 PM in response to ShannonB99

ShannonB99 wrote:

The Audacity edit included 2 files, which then are supposedly merged into one track upon export.

I'm well acquainted with Audacity, but I'm a little unsure what you have attempted to do. I'm not sure what you mean by "2 files, which then are supposedly merged...". As far as I know, you cannot merge two files. Instead, one merges two tracks (there's a huge difference).

Let's go through what happens with an Audacity file and you can see whether it ties up with what you expect. (I have just created the example pictured below, for this post.) You may know a lot of this, but stay with me.