Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Macbook Pro camera doesn't work. "No Video".

For some months already, I have been facing a problem where I can't use the Mac built-in camera. It doesn't work with Facetime, Skype and either Photo Booth.

The message that I get after opening Facetime is "No video. FaceTime has not received any video from the connected camera. Restarting your computer may fix this issue". Only green light is blinking every couple of seconds.

I have been using this laptop for 2 months and it doesn't have any damages that could affect the hardware. Camera and other minor problems started in January 2020 after additional Catalina updates.

I have Googled solution for this problem and tried different solutions but none of them didn't work. Here is the list of solutions that I have tried:

1.  Kill VDCAssistant in Terminal. It didn't work because I even can't find VDCAssistant from Activity Monitor which should control the camera.
  2. Simply restarting my Mac.
  3. Done all software updates.
  4. Run First Aid option in Disk Utility

Could anybody suggest any other solutions that can be done at home buy general user?

Thanks in advance!

MacBook Pro 13", macOS 10.15

Posted on Mar 15, 2020 9:06 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Mar 15, 2020 9:42 AM

Hello, Laurii112.

Sorry to know you're having this problem with your MacBook Pro.

If you haven't rebooted into safe mode anytime recently you should try that to see if it helps. Let the Mac OS do drive directory repair, cache clearing and other misc housekeeping. Often just booting into safe mode and logging in, then immediately rebooting normally will resolve an issue.  You should do this with all your external peripherals disconnected but the keyboard and mouse.

Booting into Safe Mode… 

Use safe mode to isolate issues - Apple Support

What Safe mode does: